The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) is the world’s leading organization that prepares and publishes International Standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies — collectively known as “electrotechnology”.  It is based in Geneva and currently has 55 full members and 17 associate members.

New Zealand is a member of the IEC through the national standards-setting body, Standards New Zealand (

In August 2007 the IEC determined that it would be establish a new technical committee, TC114, to develop standards for marine energy converters.  New Zealand became one of 16 participating members and AWATEA was appointed as New Zealand’s representative.

Dr. John Huckerby attended the inaugural meeting of TC114, which was held in Ottawa in May 2008. He has produced trip reports for each of the Plenary meetings he has attended and these are available for members.

Edinburgh, Scotland – May 2010
Seoul, Korea – May 2009
Ottawa, Canada – May 2008

TC114 continues to operate, although none of the proposed Technical Specifications had been published by August 2012. New Zealand withdrew from TC114 on 28 March 2011.